The Band

Lord Impaler current line up
Current line-up:
Phlegethon - Bass / Nodens - Drums / Lord Nebulah - Guitars / Aenaon - Guitars / Tragon - Vocals


  Lord Impaler is a Hellenic melodic black metal act. Unlike most Greek black metal bands, our musical direction has a strong scandinavic flavor. Unlike the majority of contemporary metal bands that succumbed to the triumph of 'fragmentaire', we present a kind of black metal that is rarely met anymore, pure to the tradition and the origin, presented in a modern way and worked with stellar techniques.

  Formed in late 1998 in Kastoria, Greece, we proceeded to record and release our first demo The Lord Impaler in 1999, followed by Twilight Wander in 2001. Then we went into hiatus to return stronger in 2005 with Promo 2005. In 2008 we participated in a 4-way split under the title The Ascending Novelty and in 2009 we released Demo 2009. In 2011 we released our debut album Admire the Cosmos Black. It was mixed and mastered at Mølla Lydstudio by Knut M. Valle (Arcturus). Drums were performed by the legendary Hellhammer (Mayhem). In 2013 we released Babylon Whore, a 2 song EP. It was mixed and mastered by George Stournaras at Infected_Studios. Drums on this recording were performed by George Trakas (Mass Infection). In 2014 we released our anniversary EP The Serpent Seal – Το Αρχέγονο Σκότος Επιστρέφει to celebrate 15 years from the release of our first demo. It was mixed and mastered by Tom Kvålsvoll at Strype Audio, Oslo, Norway.

  Recently we released a 3-way split under the title Carved by the Winds Eternal, we are currently recording our second full length album In Full Regalia, and have started working on new songs for a third album.